Monday, February 14, 2011

Beast of the Month Update

Though it's been awhile since a Beast of the Month citation has been written, we have continued to award them. We will eventually catch up in writing these citations. In the meantime, here's a list of the 2010 winners:

January 2010: Ben Bernanke
For heading the Federal Reserve, the powerful and notorious quasi-government/private banking institution

February 2010: 2012
For being the most popular (and admittedly, the coolest) doomsday conspiracy theory since Y2K

March 2010: Jay Leno
For hosting The Jay Leno Show, one of the greatest flops in primetime television history, for screwing over Conan O'Brien in his weasley plot to return to The Tonight Show, and, most egregious of all, for not being funny for the last sixteen years

April 2010: Akio Toyoda
As President and CEO of Toyota, leader of the cover-up in the safety dangers of their cars, a coverup that has included smearing their own customers they nearly killed

May 2010: Obamacare
The "health care reform" plan passed by Congressional Democrats and Barack Obama which is a betrayal of the real health reform movement, leading to a plan created by right wing think tanks in the 90s presented falsely as a progressive legislative victory that is deservedly unpopular with the public

June 2010: Russell Pearce
Racist Arizona state senator who wrote AB1070, the law that scapegoats Hispanics in an offensive and unconstitutional manner

July 2010: Tony Hayward
Clueless CEO of British Petroleum, the oil giant whose massive failures have caused an ecological disaster in the Gulf of Mexico

August 2010: Geert Wilders
Muslim-bashing Dutch politician who represents the latest far-right politician to gain political power in Europe thanks to crude race-baiting

September 2010: Ben Roethlisberger
Two-time Super Bowl champion and two-time alleged rapist, the latest example of really bad behavior in professional sports

October 2010: Pamela Geller
Proving Europe isn't alone in scapegoating Muslims, hysterical leader of opposition to the so-called "Ground Zero Mosque"

November 2010: Teabaggers
Huge winners of the 2010 election, a group of fake "populist" politicians who have exploited legitimate economic frustrations in the most repellant of ways

The awards cites 20 people of special note in the Teabagger movement:

Teabagger paymasters:

Charles and David Koch

Teabagger political leaders

Dick Armey
Newt Gingrich
Sarah Palin

Teabagger political hacks

Sharron Angle
Michele Bachmann
Ken Buck
Jim DeMint
Joe Miller
Christine O'Donnell
Carl Paladino
Rand Paul
Marco Rubio
Pat Toomey
Rich Iott (AKA "The Dude Who Dresses Up Like a Nazi")

Teabagger media whores

Andrew Breitbart
Glenn Bec
Rick Santelli
Mark Williams

December 2010: Janet Napolitano
For heading the Department of Homeland Security, the department whose "enhanced patdown" policy at airports via the Transportation Security Agency has led to gross violations of basic civil liberties

And finally, here's the winner for January 2011:
Alan Simpson, who as co-chair of Barack Obama's National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform, leader of the unsuccessful movement to cut Social Security under the bogus sales job of cutting the deficit

No comments: